Outdoing Others

I’ve done a lot of learning at the machine over the weekend (i.e., I’ve done a lot of seam ripping), and I’ll post about that soon (since I have Monday off–yayyyyyyy).

But just now I’m thinking about something I read recently on C. J. Mahaneys blog.  This man is a joyful, transparent lover of God and His people, and I always enjoy listening to and reading his work. mahaney

 A few days ago he wrote about serving and “surprising” others:

I think most of us understand the priority Scripture places on serving the needs of others. I don’t think I need to convince you of its importance.

But what about surprising others? What’s up with that?

Granted, surprising others is not always distinct from serving them. But while we often think of serving as limited to meeting obvious needs, there is more to it than that. Paul writes, “Outdo one another in showing honor” (Romans 12:10, ESV). The intentionality and the intensity of this statement are hard to miss. God commands a holy competition in showing honor to others.

This is a worthy and practical way to think of my relationship with others–especially those closest to me, whom serving can sometimes become kind of mundane and–well, thankless (literally).  I’m intrigued by the thought of surprising them with how much I’m doing for their good.

May the Lord bless you on His day!


Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

