BYOB

Thanks to Sandi for her welcome to BYOB–Bake Your Own Bread.   You can learn about it at her blogbread

These are from the master recipe in Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a DayDoes anyone know why my dough turns gray on top after a few days in the fridge?  Could it be my water?  Or the kind of salt I use?  (I use regular table salt; I read that I can use it by reducing the amount from 1 and 1/2 tablespoons to 1 tablespoon.  It’s iodized.  Does that matter?)   The gray part gets mixed into the boule and forms gray streaks–not attractive.

Wow!  I pasted this question into the Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day blog and had an answer from Zoe within minutes!  She says it’s probably due to my sealing the keeping bowl too tightly so that alcohol builds up and causes the gray stuff–als0 that sprinkling flour on top of the dough helps prevent the build-up. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Baking

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

